Skip to main content

Members of the Dynamics Group

Contact details and further information of Dynamics Group members.

Norbert Hoffmann

Head of the Institute

E-Mail: norbert.hoffmann@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Nonlinear Structural Dynamics, Nonlinear Waves

Marco Klein

Head of Offshore Dynamics

E-Mail: marco.klein@tuhh.de

Research Interests: wave-structure-interaction, non-linear waves, extreme waves and response

Nicolas Desmars

E-Mail: nicolas.desmars@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Free-surface hydrodynamics, Wave-structure interaction, Deterministic prediction, Marine energy systems

Moritz Hartmann

E-Mail: m.hartmann@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Hydrodynamics, fluid structure interaction, numerical modelling, deterministic wave and motion prediction

Jakob Ohlsen

E-Mail: jakob.ohlsen@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Immersed boundary methods, High-performance computing

Kerstin Vater

E-Mail: kerstin.vater@tuhh.de

Ms. Vater is currently on parental leave. She can be reached by email, though.

Research Interests: PDE-based physics, High-performance computing, GPU programming

Merten Stender

Head of Machine Learning Dynamics

E-Mail: m.stender@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Physics-Informed Learning, Complex Dynamics

Charlotte Geier

E-Mail: charlotte.geier@tuhh.de

Research Interests: physics-informed machine learning, complex dynamics, network approaches to time series analysis

Bjoern Niedergesäß

E-Mail: bjoern.niedergesaess@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Structural Dynamics, Modal Analysis, Vibration Analysis, Computational Mechanics

Jakob Schwarz

E-Mail: jakob.schwarz@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Boundary Element Methods, Numerical Integration, Vortex Methods

Mathies Wedler

E-Mail: mathies.wedler@tuhh.de

Research Interests: Prediction of Ocean Waves, Machine Learning

Guest & External Researchers

Michele Ciavarella

E-Mail: michele.ciavarella@poliba.it

Research Interests: Contact mechanics, Fatigue including fretting

Sebastian Oberst

E-Mail: sebastian.oberst@uts.edu.au

Research Interests: Complex Systems, Nonlinear Time-Series Analysis, Entropy Methods

Marcel Deutzer

E-Mail: marcel.deutzer@volkswagen.de

Research Interests: Structure Optimization, Complex Eigenvalue Analysis, Brake Development, Machine Learning

Antonio Papangelo

E-Mail: antonio.papangelo@poliba.it

Research Interests: Friction, Contact Mechanics, Friction-Induced Vibrations, Bifurcation Analysis

Former Members

Here you find information about former members of the Dynamics Group.

Former members of the Dynamics Group

Dynamics Group Locations

The Dynamics Group is part of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Hamburg University of Technology and has collaborations with partners in science and industry in different parts of the world.